Masala Chai warms the soul

On rainy days such as today, I dream of a steaming hot cup of tea. And since it rains pretty much constantly in Sao Paolo, I find myself making tea quite often. I grew up drinking tea and remember there always being a teapot full of brewed tea on the kitchen counter, usually Assam, to which I would add milk and sugar. I have always and always will prefer my tea with milk and sugar, no matter what the purists say. Blame it on my Trini heritage or, for that matter, the British colonization of the West Indies.

Anyways, Masala Chai (which just means tea with spices in Hindi) is one of my favorite warm beverages. It’s just really tasty and perfect for cold days. The trick is letting the spices boil long enough to get all the flavors and aromas. I use Assam loose-leaf tea, but you can also use tea bags if that’s all you have. If you like your tea strong, let the tea boil for longer. Makes about 4 cups.

Masala Chai tea

Ingredients:

  • 3 cardamom pods, seeds slightly crushed
  • 1 cinnamon stick, broken into pieces
  • 1 inch fresh ginger, peeled, sliced and crushed
  • 2 cloves
  • 2 tbsps loose-leaf black tea
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup milk

Method:

Bring water to a boil and add spices. Let simmer for 10 minutes. Add the tea and let boil for 2-3 minutes. Add the milk and let boil for another 3 minutes. Strain tea into a mug and add sugar.

Wayyy better than Starbucks chai tea lattes!

Ginger, cardamom seeds, cloves and cinnamon


5 thoughts on “Masala Chai warms the soul

  1. Mmm, looks delicious… You’ve made this for me before — but I have to say, you surprising me with a SBUX chai latte while we studied is a pretty wonderful thing, too 🙂

  2. Pingback: Chai Tea Muffins | Don the Apron!

  3. Pingback: Trader Joe’s Vanilla Chai-Spiced Coffee | Don the Apron!

Leave a Reply

