Chickpea and Cauliflower Curry

Last week I had a strong craving for cauliflower — what an odd craving to have! And suddenly it hit me: “Lin, you should make cauliflower curry. But what to add for protein?” And thus, this dinner was born.

When making this I had to more than quadruple the amount of curry powder called for by the Bon Appetit recipe I used as a base (doubling the curry and halving the liquids), to get the amount of flavor and heat I wanted. I am not sure if this has to do with the age of my spices (about a year), the fact that this recipe is for a non-Southeast Asian audience, or my technique (my mother uses a different method to cook the curry spices than the one called for in the recipe below). I also added ginger, additional spices, and used reconstituted coconut milk powder from Malaysia instead of canned milk. I was satisfied with the dish after the new additions.

Do not fear, I’m going to chat with my mom and get tips on her curry-making technique!

I made this on a Wednesday night after the kind of weekend/ half-week that just left you drained yet wanting to DO SOMETHING. For some of us, that means sweating it out at the gym. For others, like me, it often means going and making something with my hands — whether that is music, food, or craft. I got a pot of brown rice started and we invited our favorite pescatarian, Rick, to come share in the vegetarian bounty.

I was too tired to take a photo of us eating it at dinner, but was able to grab a shot the next morning at breakfast. I ate the leftovers with two pieces of pre-made roti pratha, which you can find in the freezer section of most Asian supermarkets. Roti pratha is a flaky, buttery bread that you can purchase as frozen rounds of dough — just cook them in a frying pan for a very tasty side dish. This combination is very similar to a classic Malaysian breakfast dish roti canai (one of my absolute favorite dishes) and although rich, keeps you incredibly full throughout the morning.

Chickpea and Cauliflower Curry
Adapted from Bon Appetit: Curried Chickpea and Cauliflower Stew

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 chopped medium onion
  • 1/4 inch of fresh ginger, diced
  • 10 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1 tablespoon garam masala
  • 1 teaspoon dried chili flakes
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 medium head cauliflower florets
  • 1 15 1/2-ounce cans garbanzo beans (chickpeas), drained
  • 1 10-ounce cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 14-ounce can unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions

  • Heat oil in large skillet over high heat. Add onions and garlic, sauté until golden brown, about 8 minutes.
  • Add spices and stir 20 seconds.
  • Add cauliflower and garbanzo beans; stir 1 minute.
  • Add diced tomatoes, then coconut milk; bring to boil.
  • Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and boil gently until cauliflower is tender and liquid thickens slightly, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes.
  • Season to taste with salt and pepper. Stir in cilantro; serve over brown rice.
One thought on “Chickpea and Cauliflower Curry

Leave a Reply

