Chicken Soup à la Brésilienne

As a fervent lover of hot soups (must be the Caribbean genes), I decided to rustle up a pot with some leftover baked chicken I had from the weekend. Call me what you will, making soup from leftovers is the way to go. I picked up some small cassava locally known as “mandioquinha” and a few sweet potatoes at the market last weekend with this exact intention. Hence dubbing this soup “Chicken soup à la brésilienne”…

Ingredients:

  • Chicken pieces (had some chicken feet in there for taste and some white breast meat, you could also use drumsticks)
  • 2 small cassavas, peeled and cubed
  • 2 small sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 carrot, peeled and cubed
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and whole
  • 1 tomato, cubed
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp black pepper
  • ½ bouillon cube

Directions:

1. Boil 2-3 cups water in a large pot. Add all ingredients in order listed to the boiling water and let cook on low heat for 35-40 minutes, covered.
2. Serve boiling hot!

3 thoughts on “Chicken Soup à la Brésilienne

  1. Corals, this soup looks beautiful! “Garbage” soups are very common, and I agree, the best way to go. My favorites are “green smoothie” soups, made of any leftover green veggies at the end of the week – broccoli, kale, green onions, peas, flat leaf parsley, celery, whatever – smoothed out in a blender before serving. Your soup is similar to the Colombian sancocho de gallina (sans green plantains and corn cobs), which is served with rice and avocado. See assembly photo from Mesa days here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/misha_pics_word/4553539388/ I think I’ll have to make some soon!

  2. Thanks Misha! In Trinidad we also use a lot of plantain in soups. I’ve never seen soup served with plantains in Brazil which is surprising but perhaps they have it in the North. Your green smoothie soup sounds vitamin packed, I might have to try it one of these days. They actually call celery “salsinha” here! 🙂

  3. I think I need to start calling celery “salsinha” because it makes it sound more exciting. I have a serious aversion to and disdain for celery. I’d classed it with iceberg lettuce – lots of work chewing for very little nutritive value. However I’ve recently learned it’s good in stocks for cleansing the blood. So….more salsinha in the soups!

Leave a Reply

