Nutella Fudge Crumble

One of the things most people can agree on is the amazing combination that is chocolate and hazelnut. From Ferrero Rochers to giandua gelato, the classic combination has made many a palate swoon (mine included!).

For Easter one of our friends planned a potluck at a local park. I’ve had my eye on this recipe for some time and decided to make it as my contribution.

This comes together very easily. It is essentially a crumble topping that is layered with straight-up Nutella. I microwaved the Nutella at a minute on the low setting to get it warmed up and easier to spread, but it still was difficult (pulling up the underside of the crumble as I spread it around). I actually used just a bit less than one jar of Nutella (blame the decadent banana/Nutella/peanut butter toasts I ate for breakfast around finals), but it still worked out. The original recipe states to use double the amount of Nutella if you’re really crazy about the ingredient — I love the flavor, but that amount would mean much too much sugar for me.

The resulting crumble is not soft at all — the bars are rich and rather hard, but extremely tasty. I recommend cutting them while they were still warm out of the oven, which will allow you to cut smaller pieces than the ones I was able to cut when the crumble was cold. I’d like to try making this again but instead with an oatmeal cookie/bar batter, and swirling the Nutella throughout. These were a hit at the picnic!

(Photo by Shannon!)

Nutella Fudge Crumble
From: Eat My Cake Now, “Nutella Fudge Crumble”

Makes one 9×13″ pan

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups old-fashioned (rolled) oats
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 1 13 ounce container Nutella

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • Butter a 9-by-13-inch baking pan.
  • Whisk together the flour, old-fashioned oats, brown sugar, baking powder and salt.
  • Pour the melted butter and stir to incorporate the butter.
  • Set aside 1½ to 2 cups of the mixture, then turn the remaining dough into the buttered pan.
  • Gently press the dough over the bottom of the pan.
  • Pour the Nutella over the oatmeal crust, then scatter the remaining oatmeal mixture over the top.
  • Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until the topping is golden brown. Let cool.
4 thoughts on “Nutella Fudge Crumble

    • Marie! How did they turn out? I hope you enjoyed them, and thank you for the tip about the nutella spreading – I will use that technique next time!

      • They were fantastic! My family loved them and my niece asked how I kept from eating the entire pan! It was difficult! Thanks for replying!

      • Awe, so happy to hear that! And that is hilarious with your niece 🙂 Nutella is dangerous like that 😉 And I love hearing from readers, so thank you so so much for posting your note! Happy cooking! -Lin

Leave a Reply

