Spicy Chickpea Tomato Soup

A very easy soup recipe that provides vegetables and protein.

I found this recipe via the blogs I occasionally cycle through… I’ve really never made a soup, but I thought this would fit both the vegetarian theme as well as something that comes together quickly without much fuss.

My cooking of this was hampered by a few key factors: (1) Our mini food processor (that Shannon won at Dave and Buster’s because she’s quite the shark at arcade games) was refusing to cooperate, so instead of making the flavoring paste I minced garlic and tossed it into oil to brown with the spices. (2) We don’t have a blender (immersion or otherwise), so I just let the soup go au naturel, which was good enough for me. I’m sure it would taste/look great pureed, too.

Without jarred roasted peppers on hand, I substituted jarred sundried tomatoes in oil (Trader Joe’s), which I julienned up and let simmer with the broth. They were divine, sweet, chewy and oily; I ended up eating two pieces on a slice of bread as the soup simmered. I also added a handful of chopped, flat-leaf parsley for color and flavor, and didn’t bother garnishing with yogurt/chives, which I think is more necessary when the soup is homogenous looking (e.g. pureed) rather than how I made it.

I’m really looking forward to having the leftovers tomorrow… Isn’t it great how soups often deepen in flavor if left alone for a bit?

Spicy Chickpea Tomato Soup
From I’ll Have What She’s Having, via Martha Stewart

Serves 2 for meal-sized portions, or 3-4 for side dish portions

Ingredients

  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cups chickpeas cooked (or 1 can)
  • 1 1/2 cup canned crushed tomatoes, including the juice (1 can)
  • 1/2 cup drained jarred roasted peppers
  • 3 1/2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
  • Sour cream or yogurt for serving
  • Chives or parsley for garnish

Directions

  • In a food processor pulse garlic, chili, coriander and salt into a paste.
  • Heat oil in a medium-sized pot and add the seasoning paste. Cook until softened.
  • Add chickpeas, tomatoes, peppers and broth. Simmer for 15 minutes. Let the soup cool slightly.
  • Using an immersion blender, puree soup.
  • Serve with a dollop of yogurt or sour cream and garnish with chives or parsley.
Leave a Reply

