Fettucini with mushroom, red pepper and basil cream sauce

Part of my desire to start this blog is to make foods that are outside of my comfort zone, try more experimental cooking, as well as expand my palate. This recipe gets at all three of these goals. As a child I was never a fan of mushrooms, but I’m growing to appreciate the flavor they add and get over my textural issues. I also almost never make cream sauces, but over vacation Coralie showed me how easy making one can be

This is a simple dinner that is quick to prepare and relies on good, simple ingredients to give it flavor. The mushrooms enrichen the cream sauce, with the basil adding a good kick. I only had Gewurztraminer in the house for white wine and although it was rather sweet, it worked alright. I would probably choose a more dry white should I have the opportunity to do it over. And the vegetable ingredients can easily be swapped for whatever fresh items you have around the house.

Not the most attractive food picture, but trust it tasted (and looked) good, I received several complements on the smell of it when I brought the leftovers to school the next day!

Fettucini with mushroom, red pepper and basil cream sauce

Serves 3

Ingredients

  • 1/2 package whole wheat fettucini
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3/4 lb mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/3 cup white wine
  • 2 red bell peppers, julienned
  • 1 bunch fresh basil, chiffonnaded
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 1 teaspoon mustard powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  • Bring a pot of water to a boil and cook fettucini according to package directions.
  • Fry onion and garlic in butter and olive oil until translucent, about 10 minutes.
  • Add sliced mushrooms and saute until reduced.
  • Once reduced, add white wine, peppers, basil, half and half and mustard powder, allow to bubble and thicken slightly.
  • Season with salt and pepper, serve over noodles.
Leave a Reply

