Ghirardelli Brownie Sundaes

Y’all, I think I’ve found my favorite brownie recipe…

It all started at the grocery store… After having used up my cocoa on the Guinness chocolate cake, I was in need of more. My local Albertsons doesn’t have the best selection, but I noticed their Ghiradelli on sale, so I grabbed a container. Little did I know that it actually wasn’t pure baking cocoa, but an interesting mix of about half/half cocoa and sugar, with some vanilla.

I was very skeptical, but after making these brownies and also using the cocoa for other fun things (hot cocoa, adding a few spoonfuls to hot coffee), I’m sold.

In particular, these brownies came out so absolutely perfect that I really think I have found my go-to recipe for chocolate brownies. The sweet ground chocolate also works excellently as a garnish, sifted over the dessert, because unlike cocoa, it doesn’t leave that bitter aftertaste.

The sweet ground chocolate can easily be substituted into a different recipe — I’ve included the conversion below for a “normal” baking cocoa. As you can see the measurements get into the 1/8ths of a cup, which can be a smidge tricky, but nothing too difficult.

Ghirardelli Award Winning Brownies
From the back of the container

Makes 16-20 brownies (or, the way I cut them, nine ;))

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 3/4 cup Ghirardelli Sweet Ground Chocolate and Cocoa (if using normal cocoa, increase sugar to 1 and 1/8 cups, and use 3/8 cup cocoa)
  • 2/3 cup unsifted flower
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (I omitted this)
  • 1 cup 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips (optional)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350°.
  • Using a spoon, stir eggs with sugar and vainlla; add butter.
  • Sift sweet ground chocolate with flour, baking powder, and salt.
  • Stir into egg mixture; add nuts. Stir in chips.
  • Spread into a greased 8″ or 9″ square pan.
  • Bake 20-30 minutes, cut into squares.
Leave a Reply

