20 answers

So we decided to play a little game and ask each other 5 questions about food, for 10 questions total x 2 answers each. Here they are!

1. What is your favorite junk food?

Lin: Definitely peanut butter. the processed, delicious kind, not the hippie, separates in the fridge kind. when i was a kid i was gaga over cheetos and cake mix cake… things that were banned at home.

Coralie’s favorite junk food is nutella. hahaha. except she is going to kill me for calling nutella a junk food!

Coralie: My favorite junk food has got to be mini peanut-butter cups from Trader Joe’s. Once I have one there’s no stopping me and before you know it I’ve eaten half the container!

2. What is the most memorable meal you’ve ever had?

Coralie: I’ve been spoiled in this department, I’ve really had some fantastic meals in the past 24 years! First one that comes to mind is a meal I had 4 years ago in a tiny Parisian restaurant–the most tender rack of lamb I have ever had with plain old mashed potatoes. Really simple meal in a great ambiance made it one of the most memorable meals for me.

Lin: Bacchanalia in Atlanta. prix fixe dinner and wine pairings. mmmm. also a multi-course chinese dinner in melaka with my mom’s friends. the food was so good and just. kept. coming.

3. if you could go to any region and have a local show you the best food and money was no object, where would you choose and why?

Lin: I would go to France. There is all this hype but i’ve never been super impressed (sorry Corals!). Maybe because most of my experience with the cuisine has been in the US. Plus, i already have the local connection for Malaysia!

Coralie: I would choose Southeast Asia for sure. Such different types of cuisine and such intense flavors. Show me the spiciest food there and I’ll be the happiest girl on earth.

4. What’s a food skill you wished you had?

Coralie: Wow, there are so many food skills I wish I had! I’d love to learn how to make a decent baguette at some point in my life.

Lin: Can i have three? (1) no crying when cutting onions. people, i sob! (2) The ability to eat any sort of texture without gagging (which I do with differently textured cuts of meat). (3) Understand wine.

5. Name a favorite quote about food…

Coralie: “The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach”…I was just talking about this to a friend today actually! 🙂

Lin: The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. So far, so true. 😉

6. What is the most romantic dinner someone has cooked for you?

Lin: Beautifully grilled medium rare, grass-fed, supremely marbled steak dinner. great side dishes. delicious bottle of red. gorgeous cake to share. My high school boyfriend also used to bake me apple cake from scratch. Lovely.

Coralie: Steak with black pepper sauce, sautéed garlic green beans, chocolate mousse, champagne…

7. If you could be the next Anthony Bourdain, where would you travel first?

Coralie: I would probably go to a very remote place, Mongolia perhaps. I saw a documentary on the food channel once and they eat some of the craziest things there–including goat head soup! They do what they can to keep warm during those long cold winters…

Lin: Eastern europe. i really hated the food there last time i visited — prove me wrong!
8. What is the weirdest thing you’ve eaten?

Lin: Snails? i’ve had them twice and both times they were garlicky, buttery, and very tasty. i love dried cuttlefish, it’s a good snack but does look a little odd. squid ink pasta recently, also delicious. these aren’t too weird, though! OH i ate fish food as a child — i convinced a friend to eat it and when she did, i felt guilty, so i joined in. one flake was more than enough for me.

 

Coralie: In Trinidad I’ve eaten different kinds of wild meat including Agouti, basically a type of rodent. I thought it was pretty good before someone told me what it was!

9. What is your favorite comfort food?

Coralie: I rarely crave your typical comfort foods but I do have a soft spot for hot soups, they make my heart happy!

Lin: Momma’s cooking (particularly asian noodle soups), of course. but i do love a properly done (midwestern) tuna noodle casserole.

10. If you could open your own restaurant, what would it be and what would you call it?

Lin: It would be a restaurant in the style of dim sum and tapas — but with small plates of every type of southeast asian food. mmmmm. it would be a sampling heaven. i would call it… the strait of melaka, after the influential shipping channel and my favorite city in malaysia. then i would get other people to run it b/c i don’t have the patience for that stuff! 🙂

Coralie: I have this dream of opening a café one day, I’d call it Coralie’s!

One thought on “20 answers

  1. Pingback: Simple Flourless Peanut Butter and Chocolate Mini Cookies | Don the Apron!

Leave a Reply

