Chocolate Chip Brioche

Brioche is one of the breakfast pastries I miss the most from my Parisian days, where I used to wake up on Sunday morning and get them from the bakery across the street. I would accompany it with a freshly brewed café au lait and occasionally dip it in my coffee to get spongy, moist goodness. I’m pretty sure you know what I’m talking about.

Unfortunately, I have not encountered anything remotely close to that soft spongy orange-scented brioche here in San Diego. And, indeed, in order to call yourself brioche you must be as far away from cake consistency as possible. The key is letting the dough rise in a warm location for multiple hours.

The end result was satisfying but I think that next time I will try using active yeast instead of the instant kind, just to see if I can get an extra spongy brioche.

Adapted from Recettes Mères Filles

Ingredients:

  • 350 grams pastry flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 20 grams instant yeast
  • 60 grams sugar
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 160 grams butter
  • Orange rind from 2 oranges
  • 4 tablespoons of freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • ¼ teaspoon salt

Directions:

1. Melt the butter in the microwave, mix the yeast with the milk.
2. In a large bowl, beat the eggs, butter, sugar, flour, milk and orange juice. Add the rind and chocolate chips. Mix until all ingredients are combined.
3. Butter and flour a bread mould and pour the dough into the mould. Cover with a towel and let rise for 2 hours in a warm location (microwave or oven). The dough should double in volume.
4. Bake for 30-35 minutes at 375 degrees.

 


4 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Brioche

  1. This looks yum, Corals. I rarely bake, but I want to try to get into it a little more. Maybe I will make this 🙂 Except for the pesky gram conversion, it looks easy enough!

    • Re: Co’s comment, cooking scales can be found super cheap on Amazon! I have been debating getting one… It’s on my (ever expanding) list 😉 Although if you don’t bake much it might not be worth it, Shan! So glad you’re posting again, can’t wait to make one of your recipes sooooon

  2. Thanks! Got the recipe from a French blog. Maybe it’s time to invest in a cheap cooking scale from Ikea? Especially if you plan to start baking again!

Leave a Reply

