Why I sometimes struggle with cooking foods from my heritage

… and one of the many reasons why I have a crush on food writer Francis Lam (strictly professional, of course!)

‘But when you have something with such a strong memory it’s hard to find anything that can come close to matching it. There’s a chef in New Orleans, you may have heard of him, Adolfo Garcia. In one of his kitchens, you can peek inside and he has big paella pans on the wall. And people ask him, “Why don’t you make paella?” And he said, “Okay, well, why do you love paella?” And the guest would say, “I was in Spain once and we were lost and driving around, and we finally got to the beach and there was this stand there selling paella.” And he said, “That’s why I don’t make paella.”’

— Francis Lam, James Beard Award winning food writer for Gourmet and The Slate, via thedailymeal

One thought on “Why I sometimes struggle with cooking foods from my heritage

  1. Pingback: Cuban Salad (I think) | Don the Apron!

Leave a Reply

