CSA Box: Week 2

After last week’s abundance of produce I decided to tone things down a bit.

Week 2 Box Contents:

  • Ground pork
  • Hot Italian sausage
  • Red Russian kale
  • Red Buttercrunch lettuce
  • Radishes
  • 1 dozen eggs

This week’s new-to-me veggies are the kale and lettuce varietals. Red Russian is supposed to be one of the mildest varieties of kale, with the baby leaves sometimes making an appearance in a mixed salad. Last week’s gorgeous oak leaf lettuce totally blew me out of the water, starring beautifully in simple salads, so I decided to try my luck with Red Buttercrunch.

And I rarely buy radishes (I believe I’ve purchased them only one other time), but they added a great peppery bite on fresh salads, so in they go again! I didn’t have my camera at the market yesterday, but the stall had a lovely display with red, pink and purple radishes. If only I could eat enough to justify purchasing all three colors.

As far as the protein goes, I’m looking forward to some gorgeous eggs, with bright, firm yolks. The pork and sausage will rest in the freezer, waiting for a mid-summer dinner.

I’ve started a little tradition (not sure if a sample n=2 can really be considered a “tradition,” but run with me) of picking up my CSA box, wandering around the little market, eating a tasty something from Sam’s The Pig cart and then coming home and having a big salad as the second part of my dinner. Today I munched on the Farmer’s Dog, which is a local hot dog on a nice bun + mayo + Farmer’s Daughter (a local, Carrboro brand) kimchi. When I came home I put everything away and made a lovely big salad filled with fridge leftovers. Starting with a base of the rest of last week’s oak leaf lettuce, I tossed in:

  • Leftover shaved radishes and red onion from a previous salad
  • Lots of juicy red pearl tomatoes, finishing off a carton I bought last week
  • One leaf of bok choy, chopped up
  • Pimento olives, rescued from the back of the fridge
  • Vinaigrette: red wine vinegar + olive oil + dried oregano + mustard powder + freshly ground black pepper

Perfect for summer. Did I mention I am writing this at 8pm and it is  77° outside?!

And note, all posts that utilize CSA food are now in a CSA category, for easy navigation! What are you getting in your gardens/markets this time of year? Do you have any suggestions for what I should make with this week’s produce? 🙂

Leave a Reply

