Paleo Pancakes for One

One of the first things people notice about a Paleo diet is the exclusion of grains, a staple in many cultures. Although die-hard primal eaters would scoff at “fake” Paleo foods such as these modified pancakes, they are still delicious and a great way to satisfy pancake cravings while keeping blood sugar levels low and stable.

Instead of the typical wheat flour, this recipe uses low-gluten, high-protein almond meal. I added in a smidge of vanilla extract for flavor and some additional chopped walnuts and shredded, unsweetened coconut for additional texture.

I like this recipe because it makes one perfect portion: three nicely sized pancakes. I am not 100% sold on the taste, as the pancakes trend very eggy, but they were still savory, fluffy, and browned nicely. I think I expected a flavor profile closer to my favorite pancakes (the basic recipe from Joy of Cooking), but I still enjoyed these pancakes. I have heard there are other Paleo options available, should I decide to expand my repertoire. 🙂

But what about the topping, you ask? Maple syrup, being as sugary as it is, is not usually allowed on the Paleo diet, Instead, I ate the pancakes with a light berry compote, easily made by warming some frozen mixed berries in a saucepan with a splash of water, letting it simmer down slightly. You could also try sliced bananas. Delicious!

Paleo Pancakes for One
Serves one, via Oh Healthy Day, from Primal Living

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1/8 t cinnamon
  • 1 t baking powder

Directions

  1. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.
  2. Heat some coconut oil in a skillet or small frying pan. Cook on medium-high to high heat. I found these took a little longer to brown than typical pancakes.
  3. Serve.
Leave a Reply

