Pimento Cheese for One

In all my years living down South I never heard of pimento cheese until I moved to North Carolina. Perhaps I wasn’t attuned to it, perhaps I just ignored it, but whatever the reason, I can’t seem to get away from it now!

First, what is pimento cheese? It’s a spread/dip associated with the South, made with cheese, mayo, pimentoes and various spices and often eaten with celery sticks or crackers. It is true comfort food, and easily transforms into a mean sandwich. In fact, grilled pimento cheese has to be one of my favorite occasional indulgences down here (go to Parker and Otis for my fave), or try a burger with pimento cheese instead of sliced cheese (try Tyler’s or Only Burger). Pimento cheese sandwiches are a signature item at the Master’s golf tournament!

Unfortunately the grocery store versions suffered from “American packaged-food-itis” — see Exhibit A:

And no, I didn’t cherry-pick this example. This was the third (!) carton I picked up with such an ingredient list (even the more “natural” looking containers at the top were terrible), and at this point a very nice, elderly Southern gentleman was giving me odd looks for my scrutiny/photography of the labels… So I gave him a friendly nod, returned the tub of goodness knows what to the refrigerated shelf, and let him pick up his pimento cheese 🙂 (I believe he chose the Augusta brand)

So what’s a girl to do? Make her own! Delish. It’s so dangerous that I messed with the proportions to make a simple, classic, single-serving recipe. When those pesky pimento cheese cravings hit… You can enjoy but not overindulge 🙂

Pimento Cheese for One

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup block cheddar cheese, grated (not pre-grated)
  • 2 tablespoons pimentoes, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon mayonnaise
  • Dash celery salt

Directions

  1. Mix.
  2. Serve with celery sticks, crackers, or whatever you want!
One thought on “Pimento Cheese for One

  1. This reminds me of the cheese paste sandwiches we often eat as a snack in Trinidad. The recipe is somewhat similar: grated English cheddar, a bit of mustard, and pepper sauce. I would probably be addicted to the pimento cheese as well.

Leave a Reply

