Chocolate Kahlua Bread Pudding

I remember the first time I had bread pudding. I was in college, a time where I was exposed to so many new things outside of my (wonderful!) sheltered small-town upbringing. Armed with a dessert coupon to an upscale local restaurant, I remember reading “bread pudding” on the menu and wrinkling my nose. What an odd thing to have for dessert! “No, it’s good!” my friend tried to convince me — and from that first creamy bite, I was hooked.

Bread pudding is honestly a bit too rich for me to have on a day-to-day, but I love it as manner of frugal principle! Anything that can be used to make the most of kitchen leftovers is a plus in my book. Armed with a stale half-baguette and some extra cream (both of which rarely make an appearance in my kitchen), I decided to go for it.

Although it might seem like quite a bit of Kahlua, the flavor is still quite subtle. I baked them in individual-sized loaf pans, but it could be made in a single, large loaf pan. I also used a water bath to keep the oven’s moisture level high — there’s nothing worse than expecting soft, creamy bread pudding and instead scratching the top one one’s mouth on a painfully sharp crust!

I’ll let you in on a little secret — I found that this reheated well for a very excellent breakfast 😉

Chocolate Kahlua Bread Pudding
Serves 8

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cream or half and half
  • 1 1/2 cups milk (I used skim coconut milk)
  • 1/2 cup Kahlua
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 6 cups stale bread, cubed

Directions

  1. Put cream and milk in a saucepan over medium heat.
  2. Microwave the semisweet chocolate on medium for 1-2 minutes until chocolate begins to melt. Begin adding chocolate to cream, stirring constantly. Once all chocolate has been added continue to stir mixture occasionally until chocolate is incorporated into the milk mixture.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, add eggs, vanilla, cinnamon and sugar, and whisk together.
  4. Slowly add a little of the milk mixture to the egg mixture, whisking thoroughly to mix. Continue adding small amounts of milk until they are both fully mixed together.
  5. Soak bread in egg mixture for 30-60 minutes, stirring occasionally. While bread is soaking, preheat oven to 375° F. Prepare pan(s), buttering sides and then sprinkling with some white sugar.
  6. After bread has had a chance to soak, fill the pan(s) with bread mixture, and top with extra liquid.
  7. On bottom rack of oven, place a large oven safe dish. Fill dish with water. Place bread pudding on top rack. Bake for 45-55 minutes or until set.
Leave a Reply

