Coconut Milk, Granola, and Berry Parfait

An easy, non-dairy riff on the ol’ yogurt parfait. Except, in my opinion, even better! It is so simple that I debated not posting — but honestly, it’s so good it needs to be shared.

20120229-123508.jpg

Perfect for dessert, I mix this up after a savory meal that leaves me wanting a little sugar in my bowl.

The best part — it’s super simple, with just naturally occuring sugar. As you may remember, I try to reduce the amount of sugar I eat on a day-to-day basis. I’m not sure if I ever followed up to that original post, but my sugar fast has really changed the way I eat and crave foods. When I was in high school I used to eat 3+ brownies when a tray was offered, I just loved ’em so much! At this point, I very rarely even crave sugars. I can walk away from slices of delicious cake, ice cream, and other sweet treats. My roommate, a whiz at baking, even mentioned to me recently, “you’re not a sweet person, are you?” This is something I never thought I’d be associated with!

Truth be told, I enjoy sweets, and I do still eat them in light moderation, but my sugar cravings really were broken by going no added sugar. The problem isn’t just high fructose corn syrup, the problem is the massive amounts of sugar we intake in the typical refined carb food diet. Let me just say, if my intensely sugar-loving self can change her taste preferences, I believe you can, too. 🙂

Regardless, back to the parfait. The coconut milk adds a deliciously creamy mouthfeel is a great source of nutrients and saturated fats. The granola/nuts add crunch, and the berries are lightly sweet and chewy-cold. Perfection.

Coconut Milk and Berry Parfait
Serves two for a small dessert or one for breakfast

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 to 1/2 a can of coconut milk. Use the full-fat kind (not cream) that you can get in a can, not the tetra-pack coconut milk for drinking.
  • 2/3 cup granola or nuts
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries

Directions

  1. Split granola between two small bowls, top with coconut milk and berries.
  2. Mix together, and let sit on the counter so that the berries unfreeze/cool the rest of the dish, and the granola softens slightly.
  3. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

