Pear-Raspberry Tart and a goodbye to Everyday Food

This fall, I have been happily cooking through my latest copy of Everyday Food magazine — the latest, this delicious pear-raspberry tart.

For my birthday this year my roommate gifted me a subscription to Everyday Food, a Martha Stewart Omnimedia magazine that I absolutely love. My mother first bought me a subscription when I was first out of college, hoping that the easy and fresh recipes would inspire my adult life. Unfortunately that timeperiod was characterized more by eating out than chopping veggies, but I did adore the monthly digest with its bright pictures and simple recipes.

This was how I imagined “real people” cooked, people who loved their kitchens and had full, wonderful lives (ah, young innocence!). Truly, though, this periodical accurately reflects the kind of cooking I do, more so than any other food magazine out there: unprocessed, unpretentious, simple, and fast. Perhaps someday I will move consistently into the higher-responsibility Saveur, Gourmet Live, and Lucky Peach recipes, but for now this suits me just fine. I saved my 2006 subscriptions and still refer to them for inspiration (see 2006 and 2012 Thanksgiving issues side by side below).

So it was with a bit of shock and sadness that I read that MSO will be dropping production of EDF from 10 annual editions to 5, and folding those five into Martha Stewart Living. I just got my first subscription two weeks ago and have already made three of the recipes, so I’m particularly bummed (recipes to come).

This tart is easy and really quite stunning (amazing how gorgeous fruit is), but in the interest of full disclosure have to admit that the crust ended up soggy. It could’ve well been user error (I defrosted and refroze the puff pastry dough a previous night when I ended up not using it for another project, and I also made the filling more watery than the recipe called for). In addition, I tweaked a few things (instead of lemon juice I used a scoop of lemon curd, and to make up for that added some water to the filling. I used frozen mixed berries instead of just raspberries, and I also let the pears macerate in the berry mixture a little longer to absorb some of the beautiful color.)

A few things could’ve probably helped out the crust, but it also would’ve made for more work for me…

  • Parbake the crust before adding the fruit filling
  • Spread a jam or lemon curd as a base before adding the filling
  • My filling was a bit watery — reserve the liquid when filling the crust, reduce in a small saucepan, and use to glaze partway through baking (or simply not dump all the liquid onto the tart like I did…)
  • I think the easiest and most professional solution would’ve been to add lemon curd to the crust before filling, and then glaze with lemon curd throughout

Regardless, all of those ideas add more work and take away from the easy simplicity of the recipe… So your call! It was still delicious, uses pantry ingredients, and just depends on your own level of desired perfection. This is a great recipe to keep as a general reference for a simple dessert (very chic with a drizzle of cream or scoop of vanilla ice cream), tea time (fantastic with a hot cuppa), or breakfast, as I enjoyed it this morning.

Pear-Raspberry Tart
Serves 6
Via Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food

Ingredients

  • 1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour, plus more for parchment
  • 3/4 cup fresh or frozen raspberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar, plus more for sprinkling
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 2 small, firm, ripe pears, such as Bartlett or Anjou, peeled, cored, adn cut into 1/2 inch slices
  • 1 large egg white, lightly beaten

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°. Place puff pastry on a lightly floured parchment-lined baking sheet and gently stretch into a 9 1/2″ square. With a paring knife, score pastry 3/4″ from the edges, creating a border. Freeze 10 minutes.
  2. Stir together raspberries, sugar, lemon juice, flour, and salt. Lightly mash some berries to release juices and let stand 5 minutes. Very gently stir in pears. Spread evenly within border of pastry. Brush border with egg white and sprinkle with sugar.
  3. Bake 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 375° and bake until juices are bubbling and crust is deep golden brown, about 30 min (tent crust with foil if overbrowning). Dip pastry brush in juices and glaze fruit. Let cool 15 min before serving (or let sit at room temperature, up to 8 hours).

 

3 thoughts on “Pear-Raspberry Tart and a goodbye to Everyday Food

  1. Hi Lin,

    Your tart looks beautiful! Bakery worthy!

    I too was very sad to hear about EF. I look forward to it each month and am always surprised by their creativity and new ideas. And I like that they include the nutritional information as well. I have quite a pile of old issues that I felt I needed to get rid of for the sake of space but now I am going to hang on to them. I am not currently a martha subscriber, guess I am going to have to get on that to receive the supplements. Thanks for writing about it, I am sure we are not the only ones who are sad over this.

    Michelle

    PS. I made your cucumber salad many times this summer. I wish it was still cuke season! They are one of my favorites and my kids as well.

    • Awe, Michelle, thanks for the very sweet comment! It made my day 🙂 And glad you like the cucumber salad — I miss summer!

      I would definitely hold on to those old issues — they’ll be good to have around for inspiration! Now I’m definitely not going to toss out my 2006 issues… I’m curious to see how they’ll end up supplementing the MS magazine, and how my own EF subscription will transfer over… Hmm!

      Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: Sweet Potato and Sausage Soup and my Sandy story | Don the Apron!

Leave a Reply

