Roasted Root Vegetable Pizza

When I saw the gorgeous pictures of this pizza online a few weeks ago, I immediately bookmarked the recipe and kept returning to it. Great for showcasing the wonderful winter roots and gourds currently in season, when I finally did make the recipe, this pizza didn’t disappoint.

Although simple, the recipe does take some prep and time. I ended up roasting a large batch of root veggies one evening for a potluck, so I took half the recipe for the party and kept the other half in the fridge to use for the pizza. Two days later I made the dough, but decided not to make the pizza — so after it rose, I covered it with saran wrap (to avoid a skin forming) and put it in the fridge for use later on. All in all there was a four day gap between starting the recipe and eating it.

Take the roasted vegetable recipe as just a general guideline, and alter it according to whatever is in season and what you have around the house. I made sure to include carrots and red onion for sweetness, flavor, and color, but I substituted sweet potatoes (both white and orange) for the new potatoes and included an acorn squash I happened to have on hand. Make sure to check the vegetables regularly as they roast — you don’t want them mushy or burnt!

My dough is homemade, and (I’m sad to say) only the second time I’ve made homemade pizza dough. It is so easy and so cheap, I’m really kicking myself for not doing this more often. I used Martha’s recipe with a half white/wheat flour mix, and making the dough gave me lots of fond memories of the pizza my mom used to make us, from scratch.

One of the commenters wrote that her children call this “Thanksgiving pizza,” because it smells like stuffing due to the rosemary — and I would agree! It’s a great twist on the traditional saucy pizza genre, and a gorgeous main entree to boot.

Root-Vegetable Pizza
From Martha Stewart
Serves four

Ingredients

  • Olive oil
  • 1 pound Basic Pizza Dough, or store-bought pizza dough, fresh or frozen (thawed)
  • 8 ounces mozzarella cheese, shredded (2 cups)
  • 6 cups (about 1/2 recipe) Roasted Root Vegetables
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary (optional – I crushed dry rosemary between my hands to release the oils and sprinkled it over the pizza)
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 475°, with racks in upper and lower thirds. Brush a large rimless baking sheet with oil. Gently stretch dough into 12-by-16-inch oval (or as large as will fit on baking sheet); transfer to prepared sheet.
  2. Sprinkle dough evenly with half the mozzarella. Scatter vegetables on top, then dollop with ricotta; sprinkle with remaining mozzarella and the rosemary, if desired. Drizzle with oil; season with salt and pepper (don’t forget!). Bake rotating sheet from top to bottom and front to back halfway through, until crust is golden, 20 to 25 minutes.
Leave a Reply

