Orange mint plant and NC pollen

Just a quick peek into our lives here in the Triangle. Over the weekend I repotted an orange mint plant I bought from the Carrboro Farmer’s Market last week. The herb is doing great, but what I want to bring your attention to is the heavy dusting of yellow pollen that is highlighting the pretty vein structure of the leaves… Not so pretty when it is everywhere else… ๐Ÿ™‚ I suppose it is the price we pay to be surrounded by such gorgeous greenery!

But back to the mint – I’m excited to use it in fruit salads and cocktails all summer long! The orange mint has a Bergamot scent and a flavor that seems sweeter, less aggressive than other members of the mint family. Plus, mint is a super easy, super hardy plant. I come from a line of women with fantastic green thumbs – I’m still looking for mine. Let me know if you find it, ok? ๐Ÿ˜‰

20130414-223937.jpg

Leave a comment